A cheap collection

At the counter. I have often said that the things I collect aren’t exactly the most pricey things in the world.

This next thing is actually free. I have collected sports schedules.

When I didn’t have a lot of money, and it started out when I was on visitation with my mom, I would scoop up the schedules at the counter for the Detroit Tigers.

It began in the early 1990s. I would be up in Michigan for half of my summer, and I would get the schedule so I knew when the Tigers games would be on the radio.

I never threw them away, and I viewed them like a baseball card: maybe it could be valuable one day. I put them in baseball card pages for the longest time. At least it felt that way.

Whenever I went out on the road for work, or just in my travels, if I saw schedules on a store’s counter, I would pick it up. And keep them.

My collection of schedules has teams from here in Michigan to a few neighboring states. Some of them are in display case with Tigers and Red Wings memorabilia.

I got thinking about it when I put away some schedules for the 2016-17 Red Wings season. I tend to grab one schedule for home now and for work. It is easier to look up the schedule sitting at my desk rather than check out an app or the website.

I don’t know what I will do with them. I have long discovered that I have finite space in my basement. Not everything can or should be set out on display. Maybe this is something I have in a book somewhere that if someone wants to see them – that someone really only me as I take no visitors – they can.

Leave a Reply

