Shuffling papers

A box set. We had issues with our cable box. We wound up having to hand back in a smaller box for a larger box. And that affected where we have our modem and our wireless router. And that affected my office where I had a stand with nothing but newspapers.

The stand has three shelves. The top was used for my edition of my newspaper for record-keeping and critiquing purposes.

The second and third shelves had other newspapers’ sports sections that I have picked up. The portion from the floor to the third shelf had even more older papers.

Before I box the newspapers that are ones that I have not worked on, I figured I would go through what I have, and run some discussion.

I have some copies of special sections/editions from the Star-Ledger in New Jersey. I attended a college student Society of News Design conference. The same for a Detroit News special report and a Chicago Tribune handout on visual journalism from 1998. I also kept special inserts from the Grand Rapids Press and Muskegon Chronicle when each announced how it was handling its coverage in 2012.

I have a copy of the Chippewa Herald’s compilation of front pages from World War II. There’s some great stuff in there. I have a long appreciation for war-year page layouts and fonts. There is just something classic and classy about it.

When we lived in Chippewa Falls, we sometimes would go to Eau Claire to a bookstore. I bought copies of The Observer, an international edition of a newspaper based out of the UK, and owned then by The Guardian. The reason I bought it was because it was viewed at the time (2009) as the best designed newspaper in the world.

I came across some copies of The Onion. What could I learn from the satire newspaper? It is still a newspaper. It is still put together similar to an actual legit newspaper. So, there can be some things learned.

I hung onto a bunch of six-page sections from Lions games from the Detroit News. I hung onto them thinking if I were in a place where football is huge, or I need to put together a special section on a single game, a state title perhaps, maybe they’ll come in handy. I did the same thing for a few other newspapers, like the Wisconsin State Journal with preps coverage and the Green Bay Press Gazette with a Packers’ preview.

I like to keep special sections, and I will get into those later. But these stacks have MLB previews from the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel from 2009 and 2010. There is one from the Minneapolis Star-Tribune in 2009. I kept the 2009 Packers’ preview, too.

It appears I had a a large stack of season previews or even playoff previews. Came across the 2010 Stanley Cup preview from the Chicago Tribune. There is a 2007 U.S. Senior Open preview from the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. A NBA Playoffs preview from 2010 from the Journal Sentinel.

An old colleague of mine gave me a bunch of papers from when the Chicago Blackhawks won the 2010 Stanley Cup. They’re of the Chicago Tribune and the Chicago Sun-Times.

My ownership of newspapers goes all the way back to 1994, April 24, to be exact. I was a high school sophomore at that time. At least, that’s where I am going with this saved section: an insert for The Oakland Press in Pontiac, Mich., on Isiah Thomas’ career with the Detroit Pistons.

This stack, and I’ll follow up on two other stacks, also has sports sections from various newspapers from Lafayette, Ind.; Shawano, Wis.; Wausau, Wis.; Port Huron, Mich.; Iron Mountain, Mich.; Stevens Point, Wis.; Marshfield, Wis.; Winona, Minn.; Holland, Mich.; St. Paul, Minn.; Grand Haven, Mich.; and, Traverse City, Mich.

I didn’t want to get too much in the weeds with those sections. I plan to do more of that when I get through the next couple of stacks.

Leave a Reply

