Uniforms, logos and more

Not alone, but my take. Looking at the litany of websites and tweeters and blogs, I’m not alone in my fascination with sports logos and uniforms. I’d like to do something a little different, only because I haven’t seen this take on this area.

Read/hear me out. Uniwatch does a great job of tracking uniform changes throughout sports. And Chris Creamer’s Sports Logos site does a great job of tracking logos. And through some poking around, he’s even tracking wins and losses by MLB teams based on the uniform they wear.

Here’s where I come in: I’d like to see a baseball card for each of the different uniforms the teams wear. An action shot of one player from that team, maybe toss in the requisite logo(s) to go with it and the date the game was played as well as place. I may whip something together card design-wise, but my question is in terms of the photos. Obviously, I can’t shoot them all as I can’t be at all of these games.

The season is just over a month old. And, so far, there have been 122 different uniforms worn by the 30 teams through May 4. That means I could, if I got the images, put together 122 different cards. I know more different jersey nights are on the way – from military appreciations to Memorial Day to Independence Day to Negro leagues to throwbacks.

If I have some time, I’ll put together a framework of the front of the card with the info I mentioned. I’ll watermark it to make sure I hang onto the design work. If there is a way to get an action image of each of the uniforms that have been in use, and ones in the future, maybe I can get a super gallery together of this idea in the future.

Leave a Reply

