How convenient

Back again. Before writing these words, I perused some of my previous posts. Some that are somehow generating traffic. Others, just the timestamp. And the last time I did put down some words was exactly three months ago. Because my research project (more in a bit) is nearing its conclusion/I can’t work on it in my current setting, I’m playing catch-up on some of my other projects. Why the three-month gap?

  • The aforementioned research project. I put a self-imposed deadline on myself to resurrect the hard data from my lost computer back in order. That meant a game-by-game, season-by-season accounting of football and basketball games. For hoops, that was both boys and girls. And for hoops, it was individual scoring records. The football records are to the best of the available sources to me – newspaper microfilm and yearbooks. The basketball records are nearly in that fashion. I still have to hit the microfilm for some district sites and dates in the 1950s and 1960s. And, I still have to research box scores for a four-year stretch right at the beginning of the season switch in the 2006-07 school year to the point where I took over the sports department in 2011-12. My deadline is Nov. 1 for basketball. I’m two weeks away and feel as though I am on track to have it nearly complete. I still have a lot of research to do, especially for a shuttered parochial school, but I can do those things over a much more relaxed pace.
  • Work around the house. Because of my research project, and using nearly every waking moment to do research through digital archives on Google, I have done little around the house. But there have been times when I have been detoured by simple chores or big jobs. Perhaps the biggest job was cleaning and clearing the basement after a pipe burst last week. And we’ve had to deal with car repairs as well. It just hasn’t been an easy year in that regard.
  • Managing the kids activities. Namely, that’s my son, who now is a three-sport athlete – football, hockey and baseball. He’s a big baseball nut, and played on four teams this summer. He’ll likely do it again next year. But we are also all struggling to get both kids to get their priorities squared away between school, church and fun stuff. So, we have that going for us.
  • Dealing with medical emergencies, and those costs. We’ve had a few instances where we needed to see the dentist, or the emergency room, and that has definitely eaten in to some of the things we wanted to do this year.

So now what? Things are exactly peachy as I am searching for ways for us to have an enjoyable Christmas this year. It doesn’t look good as we have to come up with ways to pay for baseball and hockey and band trips and everything else the kids are still involved in. But both need to get their grades up to Cs to keep participating. I don’t worry about my son, but my daughter I absolutely do. I keep praying she will “get it” soon.

I hope to get back to some of the hobbies I enjoy, from designing cards for my kids to creating a website to blogging to planning out how we’re going to get our basement and deck handled next year.

And hopefully, it won’t be three months before I pen(?) another post.

Leave a Reply

