Daddy’s little girl

It’s homecoming week for our local high school.

In years past, it wasn’t that big of a deal when schools were celebrating homecoming. I covered the game, sometimes shot photos of the queen and sometimes king, and went back to shooting the game.

This year, it’s different.

The reason it’s different is because my daughter is now a ninth grader at our high school. And she’s going to the dance with a date.

It’s hard to see her mature in that way, and I absolutely don’t want her to make any mistakes going forward with this boyfriend or any other boyfriend she may have in the future.

My wife and I have worked to raise her within the confines of our faith, her faith, which happens to be the Catholic church. But try as we might, and it’s been this way since she was tiny, she has it in her head not to listen and do what she wants. That’s not necessarily what’s right.

Needless to say, it’s been an adventure. And it will be this week and for the weeks to come.

I was very proud of her in her band uniform two weeks ago, marching for the first time with the high school band. It’ll be great to watch her again march this coming Friday and for Fridays to come for another three years past this.

And yet, this homecoming thing, it can be a little hard for dad.

I know I will get through it. Maybe with or without a heart attack, but I’ll get through it. And hopefully, as these next few years progress, my ability to trust her and trust in her decision-making will grow.

I still wouldn’t count out that heart attack.

Leave a Reply

