Update: The baseball card mad scientist

I’m still working out the kinks when it comes to doing page design on InDesign at work. But at home, I can still quench the graphic design thirst I have.

My love of graphic design is rooted, in part, to collecting baseball cards in my formative years. As I described previously, I’ve tried to even pass on my love of baseball cards on to my son. It’s taken somewhat of a hold. Just not as crazed as I was where I spent nearly every dime I had to get one more pack of cards.

And, I’ve also discussed my displeasure with Topps and MyTradingCards.com and the lack of customization when it came to creating my own cards of my son.

That brings me to now. I’ve had printed my first very own baseball cards. Well, not of me (yet), but of my son, Jack, thanks to Work & Play Trading Cards. Because I love to be that graphic designer, I worked on a designs that are basically exclusive to myself. I decided on a fictitious company name (or until I register it) that will have its brand on the cards. I won’t say what it is, but anyone who knows me and knows what is to become of our basement, will figure it out pretty quick.

This year’s card of my son, I decided to go with a few influences design-wise I’ve enjoyed. I remember back to the Sports Illustrated issues of the 2000s, where the image of the play was blanketed across the cover. And there was a small colored frame that helped to tuck it in. That’s what I went with.

On top of that, I threw in a font that I felt had somewhat of a poster-type quality to it. It’s called Tilt A Whirl. My son’s name is in that font, front and back. The diagonal bar across the corner, a la 1988 Topps baseball and so many different SI covers, was in a corner with the team name and my son’s position(s).

Card backs had the stats I kept track of, not much, but they’re there. And another action photo. Plus there was some information included. He had a pretty good on-base percentage for Riverton, so I included that. Our Ludington team played some exhibitions, so I included that information, too.

Because there isn’t a 2013 Topps card able to be customized, I decided to go out on my own for my son this year.

And I will have one more card this year to be made. This one is inspired by the several tobacco cards that are out there. I really enjoy the Topps Gypsy Queen sets plenty more than the Allen & Ginter (true story: bought one back of A&G this year. I got 1 baseball player. I want baseball cards). And, one of my acquaintances here in Ludington had a Robert Edward Auctions book from this past May. What a treasure of images! And what a great deal of inspiration to pick from.

So, I set out to make my own tobacco card for myself as I complete my first season of playing 1860s-era vintage base ball for the Ludington Mariners. Again, I used some older looking typefaces, dubbed the card Stearns Salt & Lumber Company based on the same company that called Ludington home at the time of the actual Mariners (1910s), and I set out to create a card that resembled a tobacco card like the Gypsy Queen, Allen & Ginter or Godwin Champion cards of the past.

And again, the logo of my fictitious company, which I hope to register just in case I make this an actual business of providing sports cards for others, is on the card.

I would put on examples, but I don’t want to be pirated, nor do I want to allow too much information come out about my family. Perhaps in the future, I’ll put some generic images together to show exactly how the cards look.

I know one thing for certain, at least I don’t have to do this for hockey. Thankfully, there’s something for that called MyHockeyTradingCards.com.

Leave a Reply

