Inching closer

I feel like the guy from Star Wars. The X-Wing pilot who keeps saying he’s “Almost there.”

This process to own a home is excruciatingly slow. It is unbelievably slow. Patience, fella. Patience. That’s what I keep telling myself.

We got what I hope is the biggest breakthrough or the last hurdle left to clear: The sellers agreed to do some repairs to the home, and we agreed to take on some of the painting so everything isn’t being done by the seller. I feel as though the minute we paint the home, we’re in the home stretch. The sellers have committed to us and we’ve shown our final commitment to buy the home.

We asked for an addendum on the home we’re aiming to buy just so that we can complete everything – the repairs, the painting and the paper work – in time. The paperwork has been some of the toughest stuff to come by.

I believed a key to the sale was having the sellers agree to the repairs – and that includes window replacement. Windows are not an easy thing to do, nor inexpensive, so I’m glad they’ve agreed to get it done. Once the repairs in order, and they’ve been approved by the inspector, we should be on our way.

Like I’ve told my wife, though, we aren’t taking anything for granted until we actually close on the house and sign all of the paperwork.

Still, it feels good that things are on their way.

Lottery double loser. With both the Mega Millions and Powerball over $100 million for their next respective drawings, we dropped $6 to grab two tickets for each. Our numbers are near identical (one of the numbers we have selected in the Powerball was too high for Mega Millions). So, in all likelihood, we get to be losers on two consecutive nights.

It would be hilarious if we hit both though – with the exact same numbers. I’d laugh all the way to the bank. Twice.

Vintage base ball and Little League. Baseball is taking center stage of my life very, very soon. I’ll be playing vintage base ball with the Ludington Mariners soon, and I’m drafting my son’s little league team tonight. I should say youth baseball as we don’t belong to Little League or Babe Ruth or any other affiliated group. Yet.

Early afternoon stroll. I was in Ludington State Park today and found some neat, off-the-map trails and former buildings. Three buildings to be exact. And it looked as though there were two wells, too. It was an interesting site. I think I’m going to check out the park again tomorrow.

One thought on “Inching closer

  1. A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I believe that you should write more about this topic, it may not
    be a taboo subject but generally folks don’t speak about such topics. To the next! Best wishes!!

Leave a Reply

